Select Page

University of Canterbury

Established:  1873

Location:  Christchurch

Student population:  14,900

The University of Canterbury (UC) was founded in 1873 by scholars from Oxford and Cambridge. It is in Christchurch, the largest city in the South Island of New Zealand.

Christchurch is between the South Pacific Ocean and the Southern Alps, giving students at UC access to all the amenities of a cosmopolitan, international city while allowing them to still be just a few minutes from beaches and the ocean, and within an hour’s drive of alpine mountains, national parks, ski fields, rivers, and wineries.

The University has five Colleges: Engineering, Education, Health and Human Development, Arts, Science, and Business and Law. In 2020, Times Higher Education recognised Canterbury as a top international university, praising its international outlook in teaching, research, and graduates’ job prospects.

For more information about this university or its courses please contact a Study Options advisor.